Georgia Society of Clinical Oncology - GASCO logo for print

Georgia Society of Clinical Oncology - GASCO

Lung Cancer and COVID-19 in the Outpatient Setting: What Clinicians Need to Know

Course Type: Live CME/CE Webinar
Number of Credits: 1
Credit Type: CME/CE-certified, MOC-eligible

Dates & Times

  • Tuesday, September 15, 2020
    4:00 – 5:00 PM ET
    (8:00 – 9:00 PM GMT / 3:00 – 4:00 PM CT / 1:00 – 2:00 PM PT)
  • Tuesday, September 29, 2020
    1:00 – 2:00 PM ET
    (5:00 – 6:00 PM GMT / 12:00 Noon – 1:00 PM CT / 10:00 – 11:00 AM PT)
  • Thursday, October 15, 2020
    7:00 – 8:00 PM ET
    (11:00 PM – 12:00 AM GMT / 6:00 – 7:00 PM CT / 4:00 – 5:00 PM PT)

Patients with underlying health conditions such as lung cancer are at greater risk for infection or complications from COVID-19. Because of this increased risk, it is important that these patients are carefully managed, with telemedicine replacing in-person visits where possible. However, monitoring patients via telemedicine requires special attention, particularly because symptoms of COVID-19 infection are similar to common adverse events associated with lung cancer treatment.

This activity, "Lung Cancer and COVID-19 in the Outpatient Setting: What Clinicians Need to Know" will provide clinicians with the most up-to-date guidance on managing lung cancer during the current pandemic, including information on the pathophysiology of Sars-Cov-2, the risk of infection in patients with lung cancer, and strategies to manage patient care and counsel through telemedicine.

Some topics covered:

  • The Pathophysiology of COVID-19
  • Patient and Disease Features that Increase Risk of COVID-19 Infection and Complications in Patients with Lung Cancer
  • Recommendations for Managing Patients with Lung Cancer in the COVID-19 Pandemic

Faculty

Sandra Cuellar, PharmD, BCOP
Associate Professor
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy
Clinical Oncology Pharmacist, UI Health
Chicago, IL

J. Morgan Freiman, MD, MSc
Infectious Diseases Physician
Director of Antimicrobial Stewardship
Lahey Hospital and Medical Center
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Tufts University School of Medicine
Boston, MA

Antonio Passaro, MD, PhD
Division of Thoracic Oncology
European Institute of Oncology
Istituto di Ricovero e Cura a Carattere Scientifico (IRCCS)
Milan, Italy

Beth Sandy, CRNP
Medical Oncology
Penn Medicine
Philadelphia, PA

Accreditation Information & Registration

Lung Cancer and COVID-19 in the Outpatient Setting: What Clinicians Need to Know

Provider

Jointly provided by Boston University School, the Potomac Center for Medical Education and Rockpointe.

This activity has been submitted to the Maryland Nurses Association for approval to award contact hours. The Maryland Nurses Association is accredited as an approver of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

This program is supported by an educational grant from Daiichi Sankyo.

In collaboration with The American Lung Association.


Thank you for choosing Rockpointe for your CME activities.

We appreciate your participation in our programs.